0 Essence of Durga Pooja Celebration

Your vote is:
5.00 of 1 votes

Durga Pooja is main festival in Bengalis. They call it as "Durga Pujo". It is believed that Goddess Durga killed deceptive and powerful buffalo demon Mahishasura; who was blessed to not be defeated by any man or God. Let's find out what is the Essence of Durga Pooja Celebration.

Essence of Durga Pooja Celebration

Essence of Durga Pooja Celebration:

Demon Mahishasura wanted to destroy all the Gods (Devas in Hindi) as Gods & Demons were perpetually in conflict. Therefore, to make himself invincible, Mahishasura would perform Tapas (worship in the form of meditation) to God Brahma; and, requested Brahma to confer him a boon of immortality. But, Brahma refused him the boon of immortality. However, Brahma gave him a boon that none of the men or Gods will be able to kill him, but a woman can. Mahishasura accepted the boon with a thought that it was impossible for a woman to kill a person of his strength. So, for him this boon was equivalent to immortality.

And, with this belief, Mahishasura started a war against the Gods. Gods could not win this war against Mahishasura. Finally, they approached the trinity of Gods - Brahma, Vishnu, Mahesh (Shiva) to seek help. Then, the three great powerful Gods combined their divine energies and created a woman, who could defeat & kill Mahishasura. The Goddess thus emerged was Devi Durga, the embodiment of Shakti or divine feminine power. She exists in a state of self sufficiency and in ultimate power.

Essence of Durga Pooja Celebration

Hence, Goddess Durga killed Demon Mahishasura and restored balance in the universe. Thus, the festival of Durga Pooja epitomizes the Victory of Good over Evil, but it also is in part a harvest festival that marks the goddess as the motherly power behind all of life and creation.

Durga Pooja Celebration:

Durga Pooja celebration involves worshiping of Goddess Durga, the ten armed Goddess riding the Lion.

Pujo begins with Mahalaya and entail ten days of fast, feast, worship and celebration. The last four days Saptami, Ashtami, Navami and Dashami are celebrated with gaiety, grandeur and with great zeal.

Read our next blog about "Daywise Rituals of Durga Pujo".